Winter warmers… Sweet Italian mini meatball soup & Boerewors Shepherd’s pie!

Image

Would you believe me if I tell you that I daydream about food!  I really do! It’s not that I want to eat it right away, it’s really just something exciting about finding new combinations or putting some older concepts in a new package. (And then all of this happens with a background of what brings along a smile and what – #onions – brings along a FROWN around the dinner table.)

Let me tell you, my poor family hardly ever get the same meal twice and then, usually they have to stand at the table and watch me when I break out in spontaneous photo shoot mode! I love dreaming up new food concepts!  So the LCHF challenges are perfect for me…  I mean really, you folks realize that in order to produce any baked anything without sugar or ANY starchy flour is kinda a miracle right?  And that’s my addiction, the rush of figuring it out, bringing it together while still keeping ALL insulin spikes at bay.

I feel like I am part of the Mythbuster team every time I get to bust the baddies and “decarb” an old favourite!

Confession:  There are things that in my opinion won’t be possible to “decarb”.  Sorry, but I think pizza is in that category. Oh my hat, I have embarked on that journey oodles of times! We can come close, but I’ve seen with my family, we should rather call it something else.  The disappointment is just too big otherwise.

 

Back to our recipes…

Sweet Italian Meatball Soup  (4 Main meal portions) 

It’s like spaghetti bolognaise without the pasta but with the same flavour palette!

 

Ingredients:

500g Good quality Beef Mince

2 Tbsp Parmesan (optional)

1 Can Tomato Pureè

2 1/2 tsp dried Mixed Herbs (Italian herbs)

1 tsp dried Thyme

1 Tbsp chopped Garlic

 1 Medium sized Brinjal (diced)

5 Medium Babymarrows (diced)

6 Baby plum tomatoes (diced)

1 Onion (diced) or 3 Spring onion sprigs (chopped)

1 Green pepper (diced)

4 Tbsp Coconut oil / Lard

Salt & Pepper to taste (I used Garlic and celery flavoured salt)

2 Tbsp Xylitol or a few Stevia drops (Optional)

2 Cups of Water

Cream and chopped chives for garnish

 

Method:

1. Mix the parmesan and half a teaspoon of mixed herbs into the meat and roll your meat into prune sized meatballs.

2. Fry the meatballs in 2 Tbsp Coconut oil till browned on all sides.  Now add the tomato pureè, spices and Xylitol.  Let it simmer on medium heat for about 7 – 10 minutes and then add 1 Cup of water.

Image

3. Char grill the diced veggies in half the coconut oil under the grill stir once or twice to get more car grilled sides.

Image

 

4. Add a 1/4 cup water and give the veggies a quick blitz in a blender or food processor, leaving a third in bigger chunks if you like a chunky, rustic soup.  Pureè if you like a smooth soup.

5. Add the veggies, and 3/4 cup water to the tomato and meatballs and simmer gently for about 10 minutes.  

6.  You can adjust your liquids according to your preference.  You can also use stock instead of plain water.

7. Garnish with cream and chopped chives or parsley.

Image

 

NOW…

Oh my hat, this next one can probably go down as absolute COWBOY FOOD!  It is so far from stylish cuisine it is not even funny!  (It really leans more to the side of almost messy “cumbaja,” campfire food!)  BUT you know what… it’s a kiddies favourite!  My picky eaters love this one!  So you know, I’m sharing it because ironically this might just be the recipe that makes me famous!  # Nervous laughter!

Image

Ingredients:

800 g – 1kg of your favourite Boerewors divided into 2 sausage wheels. (Or like you will buy a 500g pack x 2) 

(Boerewors is a proudly South African very long sausage, filled with beef, bacon fat and stunning spices like coriander and blackpepper. You can really use any good quality (cereal and dextrose free) sausage or smaller cut sausage pieces for this recipe.  You can even use any ground meat)

500g – 700g pumpkin 

1 tsp Cinnamon

1/2 tsp Mixed spice

A Sprinkle of ground Cloves 

2 Tbsp Butter

1/2 Cup cream

1 Cauliflower head

4 medium Babymarrows

1 Can of diced tomatoes

1 Tbsp Xylitol or a few drops of stevia (optional)

Salt & Pepper to taste

1 Cup grated Cheese

 

Method:

1. Cook the Boerewors in a pan with a bit of water. Keep the two “wors wheels” in tact. (I put my two wheels on top of one another, add a bit extra water and cover with a lid. The wors does not have to be cooked all the way through, just mostly steamed through.)

2. Chop the pumkin into chunks or if you use ready prepared pumpkin, cook in a bit of  salted water till soft and “mashable”.

3. Add 1 Tbsp butter and cinnamon, mixed spice and cloves to your pumpkin and mash till creamy.  

(I cook my pumpkin skin on, because we like it and we actually need that extra fiber, but it is totally up to your preference)

4. In another pot, cook your chopped cauli florets and diced babymarrows till tender in salted water.  Strain and mash with the butter and cream and simmer on low heat for a minute or two.

5. Heat the canned tomato and add some mixed herbs and spices and sweeten with a tiny bit of xylitol or stevia. 

6.  Now you are ready to build this baby!  I will explain with some pictures… for your entertainment and to my shame!

7. Start with a layer of boerewors or meat of your choice.

Image

8. Scoop the pumpkin mash onto the boerewors and layer the tomato mix on the pumpkin.

 

Image

 

9. Now add the second boerewors wheel and layer all of the cauli marrow mash on top of the second wors layer.

Image

10. Lastly, sprinkle a layer of grated cheese and bake at 190 degrees Celsius until golden brown.

Image

It is truly surprising how this very humble dish can be so incredibly LEKKER!  I think it’s the times you visit your Mom or Grandma’s dinner table during every bite!  It’s the “mushy” veggie experience and the happy memories of Boerewors and tomato stew that makes you smile… and the last thing you think about… is whether it looks gourmet!

Image

Low Carb is nostalgically lekker!

Inè

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Winter warmers… Sweet Italian mini meatball soup & Boerewors Shepherd’s pie!

  1. I am SO going to make this. It looks delish and has all the flavour profiles that my family loves. Also, I work in a Cheese Shop … say no more!!!

Leave a Reply

