No bake treats and Quick bake treats… A visit from the low carb Fairy!

There are times in any die hard low carber’s life, that you wish the Low Carb Cookie Fairy would pop in and sort out some instant treats.

Well go ahead and call me Mary the Fairy!  Your wish is my command.

I am going to give you two no bake recipes with twenty odd more possibilities for you to whip up in a flash.  These are great to accompany a little sophisticated cup of coffee with a friend, a romantic cuddle up fireside snack, a lunchbox treat or even a gift for a friend taking the first steps into a low carb lifestyle.

Watermark - Chocolate Rum Balls

 

No Bake Rum Balls

Ingredients:

1/2 Cup Milled Pumpkin Seeds (I grind them up in my coffee grinder, Takes 30 secs)

1/2 Cup Nut Meal/Flour (I used raw almonds that I ground up in my coffee grinder)

1/2 Cup  fine desiccated Coconut

3 Tbsp Cocoa

2 Tbsp Xylitol

2 Tbsp Butter

50g Cream cheese

1 – 2 Tbsp Dark Rum (alternatively rum essence  – or even vanilla for plain chocolate balls)

In a small saucepan, melt the butter and cream cheese, add the rest of the ingredients while stirring so that the mixture forms a dough ball over  medium heat. Add the Rum or Vanilla. Roll into large grape sized balls.

In a separate bowl, put 1/4 Cup cocoa powder or desiccated coconut and roll and cover each ball in it.

Yields 16 balls @ 1.6 grams of carbs per ball.

 

IMG_0024

For a wonderful caramel version of these no bake balls:

1 Cup Nut meal/flour (I used raw almonds that I ground up in my coffee grinder)

1/2 Cup desiccated Coconut

50g Cream Cheese

2 Tbsp Butter

3 Tbsp Xylitol

1 tsp Vanilla

Melt the butter, xylitol and cream cheese together in a saucepan.  Allow to simmer for 2 minutes to form a caramel sauce.

Add the rest of the ingredients and stir to form a dough ball.

Add the vanilla. Roll into large grape sized balls.

In a separate bowl, put 1/4 cup desiccated coconut and roll and cover each ball in it.

Yields 16 balls @ 1.5 grams of carbs per ball.

More variations:

For lemon flavoured balls:  Add 1 Tbsp Lemon juice and the rind of half a lemon to the batter. (1.7 grams of carbs per ball)

Do the same for orange, grenadilla (pulp of 1 fruit) or berry (pulp of 4-5 berries) flavoured balls.

For mocha balls add, a tsp of good coffee powder to either the vanilla or chocolate ball  dough bases.

 

 

Quick bake Savoury Muffins:

Watermark - Chicken Spinach Savoury muffins.

Ingredients:

1 & 1/2 Cups Almond meal (I used raw almonds that I ground up in my coffee grinder)

1/2 Cup Coconut meal (Desiccated Coconut given a 10 second treatment in my coffee grinder)

1/3 Cup Melted Butter

3 small eggs or 2 regular sized eggs.

Leaves from 2 stalks of fresh Thyme.

50 g Feta (Crumbed)

1 tsp Minced Garlic

2 tsp Baking powder

1/2 Cup chopped smoked Chicken

1 Cup Finely chopped Spinach

 

Method:

Preheat oven to 180 Deg C. Melt the butter and beat the eggs into the butter in a separate bowl.

Add all the rest of the ingredients and stir so the baking powder will spread throughout the clumpy batter.

Add the egg mix. Mix but din’t overwork the batter.  I use paper liners for all my muffins, scones and cupcakes.

Divide the batter into a 12 small muffin hole pan.  Bake for 15 – 20 minutes.  The muffin should be brown and set on top.

 

Now you can use variations to your hearts content.  Swop the feta for 1/2 cup cheddar or 50 g cream cheese, blue cheese, mozzarella cheese… swop the chicken for bacon, swop the spinach for a handful basil leaves or sun dried tomato…  This is a wonderful base to use for a muffin.

I even made berry jam with 1/2 cup mixed berries and a Tbsp Xylitol, allowed it to reduce in a saucepan till thick and replaced the recipe with 50 g cream cheese instead of the feta as seen in the Savoury muffin above.

I then only filled my muffin liners with 1/4 of the batter, added a scoop of jam and topped with the rest of the dough.

Yummmm!

IMG_0036 IMG_0039

 

I gave my hubby one the other day.  He bit into the savoury muffin, stopped and looked at me with utter shock!

He then wanted to know if he was even to allowed to eat it!  (As if any glutenous carb- filled flour will be found in my pantry!)

He said it was nicer than the savoury muffins he enjoyed so much in our before low carb lives… There you have it folks!  It’s really THAT good, but still…simply low carb! 2 grams of carbs per savoury muffin!  3 grams of carbs per berry jam muffin if you make 12 smaller ones.

YOU ARE WELCOME! x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “No bake treats and Quick bake treats… A visit from the low carb Fairy!

  1. Dear Ena

    I believe you are an Angel sent to me by the Almighty at a home when I needed your help the most. You answered every question systematically, as if you knew

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. You are amazing! You give your recipes so generously and really help a lot to make this strange new lifestyle easier. Thank you.

  3. Look forward to trying these. Is there anyway you can add a link to your recipes where there is a simple “print” option so we don’t have to print the whole page?

    • You are welcome John! Wow, that is truly amazing. Proud of you! My book is still at the printers somewhere in the far East and will hopefully reach us later this year or early next year. My publishers worked hard to make it as affordable as possible, but alas that does not buy speed! Will keep you all posted! Kindest Regards, Inè

Leave a Reply

