Meet the Chewy Vanilla Cookie that gives low – carb living new meaning…

Kids will LOVE these guys!  Mine comes running into the kitchen at the first whiff.  Now, this is really a basic cookie recipe that needs just one thing to work even better…YOUR IMAGINATION! You can use these for birthday parties, to send along to a friends house as a healthy snack. Or just eat them during movie night!  Mommies, you know that even though we don’t encourage snacking for no reason on a LCHF lifestyle, we do treasure making special memories.

I think my kids are just content on this lifestyle because we still celebrate with nutritious food, and we savor every bite together.  It is nice to KNOW what you are eating in the end…

Here is the basic recipe.

IMG_9889

Vanilla Cookie Ingredients:

1 & 1/2 Cup Almond Meal/Flour

8 Tbsp Desiccated Coconut

1 tsp Vanilla

3 Tbsp Xylitol

6 Tbsp Milk

6 Tbsp Soft Butter

2 tsp Baking powder

1 Egg

Method:

1. Whisk the butter & xylitol till creamy.  Add the egg, milk and  vanilla and whisk till fluffy.

2. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a bowl.  Add the egg mix and mix well.

3. Scoop slightly  heaped Tbsp fulls onto a buttered, wax paper lines cookie sheet pan. Leave enough room for the cookies to expand.

4. Bake for 10 -12 minutes or till firm and brown in a preheated oven of 180 deg C.

5. Allow to cool and peel off of the wax paper.

 

Watermark - Vanilla Choc Chip

For a choc – chip version, I use 3 blocks of a Caring Candies  chocolate bar.  I simply give them a rough chop and add to the dry ingredients before I pour the egg mix in.

You can even buy choc – chip off cuts from the Caring Candies factory shop in Cape Town.  See this link for details and factory prices.

Otherwise Caring Candies are available at these retailers in South Africa and abroad.

If like me, you love a bit of satisfying 85% dark chocolate, go ahead and chop up 2 blocks of Lindt.  That is if you have the self restraint not to eat the rest of it and save it for a next batch.

 

IMG_9915

OR…

Make this decadent fruity icing and top with some Caring Candies Sugar – free Frutz.  Just remember, 3 pieces of candy counts as a serving for a day.

Lemon drop Icing:

2 Tbsp Cream Cheese (At room temperature)

2 Tbsp Soft Butter

2 Tbsp Xylitol

1 Tbsp Lemon juice

1 Tbsp Cream

Whisk ingredients together till glossy and thick.  Scoop onto the cookies.  Top with crushed sugar – free candies and smiles will lead the way!

 

Watermark - Fruity Coconilla's

 

Now make your own flavour combinations and enjoy!

(Yields 14 -16 medium cookies)

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Meet the Chewy Vanilla Cookie that gives low – carb living new meaning…

  1. I love caring candies but I researched the ingredient maltitol which they use in their chocolate and it does spike blood sugar.

    • Hi Angela, I had the same concern when I was asked to review the Caring Candies Products at first. I came to the same research conclusion and then asked Denise from Caring candies. She reassured me that they have many diabetics specifically using their products and none has even once mentioned a spike. So next, I used my husband as a gunea pig… He was pre diabetic before we started LCHF. He ate half a bar and had no spike.
      (He is very very sensitive and spike at almost the thought of sugar.) I cannot eat more than a block at a time…my sweet – o – meter wants to explode! If seen as a very occasional treat, it should be fine. Kids also, can handle this a bit better than the 25+ folks.
      I also am concerned that people might substitute these kind of sugar – free treats as they would normally find comfort in chocolate. It is simply meant as a bit of variation and a very occasional treat. You are welcome to omit and rather add a bit of cocoa powder to your icing mix for a hint of chocolate. Regards, Inè

  2. Oh wow, those sound delicious! Think I’ll have to try a batch tomorrow! Sure they’ll go perfectly with an afternoon cup of tea! #excited!

  3. Hi there, thanks so much for the recipe!

    i’ve just started LCHF and have really struggled to find almond flour in particular – any tips on where to get it locally (I live in Joburg)?

    • Hi chris, I make my own in a basic kenwood blender at home… works perfectly and much cheaper than the health shop stuff….

  4. Hi Ine, we love the choc chip cookies, but me and my limited baking experience was left with very soft, “crumbly” cookies – almost had to eat them with knife and fork ;). Do you have a tip for me to next time make them more “cookie-like”? The taste however was delicious and my husband has been begging me to make some more mere days after the first batch. Thank you

    • Hi Hanta, you could try to add another egg and 1/4 tsp baking soda. I would also maybe help to bake them a bit longer and not to touch them before they are completely cooled down! Hope this is helpful. Inè

  5. Hi!

    I am excited about your site and would use it a lot if you were able to provide exact carb count (no. grams carbs per 100g of product) for each recipe.My son is Type 1 diabetic (3 years old) and without the carb count, we unfortunately can’t try any of these lovely things. Thanks so much. Hayley

Leave a Reply

