Crazy or Lazy Day Quick Tomato Pumpkin and Bacon Soup …or as I like to call it…”Tomkin” Soup

Tomkin soup

We had this ad a few years ago where someone mistakenly thought coffee names like espresso and mochachino where actually a foreign language.  The punchline for the ad was ” I love it when you speak “foreign” to me!  When I named this creation I thought it was so funny that this name sounded so foreign while this soup is actually so plain and simple. I made this soup for all the teachers at my daughter’s school today and got many recipe requests even from non-low carbies. Just goes to show you can’t judge a soup by its colour.

Ingredients:

2 x cans (410g) whole tomatoes in sauce

or equal amount of passata sauce

400g pumpkin pieces

2 x 200g packets diced bacon (cooked, but not too crispy)

1 cup cream

fresh parsley and thyme (small bunch fresh or use dried herbs)

Himalayan salt and black pepper to taste

2 – 3 cups water or chicken stock

1 tbsp xylitol or a knife point of stevia

Method:

In a large saucepan on medium-high heat boil your pumpkin chunks in water until soft. (Don’t strain the excess water from the pot.) Allow the pumpkin to cool for a bit.

In a blender of food processor blitz your cans of tomato and the herbs and pour into a thick base pot.

Blend the pumpkin and excess water and add to the tomato-herb mix in the pot.

Add all of the rest of the ingredients to the pot and let it simmer for 5 to 10 minutes on medium heat.

Enjoy with grated parmesan, or add a slice of low-carb bread or even some fried halloumi strips to add some healthy fats.

Yields 4 – 6 generous portions at about 6 – 8 grams carbs each.

10 thoughts on “Crazy or Lazy Day Quick Tomato Pumpkin and Bacon Soup …or as I like to call it…”Tomkin” Soup

  1. Hi there – is there any way that we can have a Pinterest Link on the recipes as well? I would love to keep it in my collection…

  2. A friend showed me your book…she also shared a sample of one of the dishes. Suffice it to say that I am hooked, rushing out to buy it and try it for myself. Thank you!

  3. Iné

    DIE SOP WAS FANTASTIES!!!!!

    Ek was mal daaroor. Hierdie juffrou se dag was gemaak. Ek gaan dit definitief vir my gaste maak die naweek.

Leave a Reply

